UNESCO’s Convention for Safeguarding the ICH

The Convention of the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage was adopted by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) in 2003 and entered into force in 2006.

It comprises 24 members and is elected in the General Assembly of the Convention according to the principles of equitable geographical representation and rotation.

Members of the Committee are elected for a term of four years.


    • To safeguard the expressions of intangible cultural heritage that are endangered by the processes of globalization.
    • To ensure respect for the intangible cultural heritage of the communities, groups and individuals.
    • To raise awareness at the local, national and international levels of the importance of intangible cultural heritage.