National List of Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH)

The National List of Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH) of India is an attempt to recognize the diversity of Indian culture embedded in its intangible heritage. It aims to raise awareness about the various intangible cultural heritage elements from different states of India at the national and international levels and ensure their protection.

Following UNESCO’s 2003 Convention for the Safeguarding of the ICH this list has been classified into five broad domains in which intangible cultural heritage is manifested:

    • Oral traditions and expressions, including language as a vehicle of the intangible cultural heritage
    • Performing arts
    • Social practices, rituals, and festive events
    • Knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe
    • Traditional craftsmanship

The present items in the list have been assembled from the projects sanctioned under the scheme for ‘Safeguarding the ICH and Diverse Cultural Traditions of India’ formulated by the Ministry of Culture.

The scheme aims at reinforcing the diverse cultural expressions that are necessary for the continuous evolution and interpretation of intangible cultural heritage in India, as well as their transmission to future generations.